Royal Air Force
Administrative Apprentices Association

Multum A Parvo

Apprentice Wing Band

Home Forums General Discussion Apprentice Wing Band

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Drummer boy
    Participant

Let see how many of you guys where members of the band.

I was Drum Major in 1967 ex 307th Bryan Hoare

Jimmy Dixon was my Lead Drummer.

YorkyBoy
    Participant

Hi Bryan,

I was made up to Sgt Trumpeter in 1966, 304th Entry, Clk Sec. Had a fantastic time, our Drum Major was the Sgt Craft App Cook – I’ve never seen sleeves with so many stripes on!  Our Trumpet Major, was Neil Williams, who was a Clk Sec in our ‘F’ Flight and lived in the top floor of Gibson Block. I believe our Lead Sgt Lead Drummer was a Supplier, whose name escapes me at the moment.

Alan Bell
    Keymaster

AAA School Band 1957

The AAA Apprentice Band was largely made up of members of the 29th Entry when I was a member in 1957. Our drum major was George Masson. I was a side drummer on front row with Jack Norris Paddy Gilbert and Ben Croucher. We got very handy with clicking the sticks across the line and it was good fun and if you liked marching, then being in the band was just great as well as avoiding some of the more close inspections on morning parades. Always remember the late Jack Norris, an accomplished drummer in his own right, once breaking into Skin Deep just after march off. As you can imagine chaos reigned for a few minutes!

I  stood in for the bass drummer from time to time and got to like setting the pace. Boom Boom Boom Boom Boom!  Di Dah Dah!

Happy Memories!

YorkyBoy
    Participant

I remember one incident when being in the Band was a distinct disadvantage…. we went to Crickowell for our weeks expedition training 1966, in the Brecons, and stayed in lovely comfortable camp beds in quite large tents.  We had problems waking up in the mornings, with no early morning wake up broadcasts from the wonderful Radio Hereford!